South Carolina has strict rules for DUI. According to South Carolina road rules, you are not supposed to drive a vehicle if your BAC level reaches 0.8 or above. If you are caught driving with a BAC higher than the state standard, your license will be suspended. You have to file an SR22 to reinstate your driving privileges. The other penalties include 48hours – 30 days jail time, community service and a fine of $400. These penalties increase when you commit it the second time.
SR22 is a financial liability form required by drivers to reinstate their driving privileges. According to the state of South Carolina, you will be required to file an SR22 if your license gets suspended due to any reason. You will be asked to carry an SR22 for at least three years. Any lapse in the payment can increase the duration and SR22 amount. The severity of the offense that is committed will also determine how long you must carry an SR22 in South Carolina.
There are three types of SR22 insurance available in South Carolina:
Operators policy or Non owner policy – This is an SR22 insurance policy issued to drivers who don’t own a car. This provides a secondary liability to drivers who drive their friends or neighbors car.
Owners Policy – This is a standard auto insurance policy along with an SR22 insurance attached to it. Both the vehicle and the driver are insured with this policy. The insured driver will only be permitted to use the vehicle which is insured under this policy.
Owners-operator policy – This is a standard auto insurance policy which permits the driver to drive his own vehicle as well as a vehicle not owned by him. All the vehicles used by the driver will be listed on the policy.
Best SR22 insurance companies in South Carolina are The General, Safe Auto, Direct Auto, Progressive, Dairyland and USAA.